Southwest Indiana Chamber names 2016 annual awards recipients

Southwest Indiana Chamber names 2016 annual awards recipients

Evansville-based D-Patrick, Inc. today was named 2016 Norman P. Wagner Business of the Year by the Southwest Indiana Chamber at its Annual Meeting & Dinner. D-Patrick, Inc., founded in 1934, employs 365 people through seven showrooms, four parts and service departments, four body shops, and a corporate office. For more than 20 years, D-Patrick, Inc. has organized the Mercedes Golf and Tennis Championships charitable fundraiser. The event has raised over $100,000 total for local charities since its inception.

Jim Spann, owner and president of New Harmony Soap Company, was named recipient of the 2016 Entrepreneur of the Year award. Founded in February 2012, New Harmony Soap Company develops, produces, and markets nutritional soaps and body care products crafted in New Harmony.

Aurora, Inc. received the 2016 Nonprofit of the Year award. The nonprofit organization, with a mission of preventing and ending homelessness in our community, housed 513 homeless individuals, including men, women, and children, in 2015.

Barry Cox, president and COO of Mt. Vernon-based Warehouse Services, Inc., was named recipient of the 2016 Volunteer of the Year award. Cox, also known as “the Godfather,” formed and led a dynamic team of volunteers, bringing in the most new members during the Chamber’s 2016 membership campaign.

Thyme in the Kitchen was named recipient of the 2016 Small Business of the Year award. The store on West Franklin Street offers specialty home goods, kitchenware, and cooking classes taught by both local and traveling chefs.

Glen Dunkerson was named 2016 Richard A. Schlottman Business Person of the Year. Dunkerson is serves as CEO of Evansville-based Atlas World Group, a family of companies that deliver transportation and related services globally.