Southwest Indiana Chamber Named ‘Chamber of the Year’

Southwest Indiana Chamber Named Chamber of the Year

The Southwest Indiana Chamber today announced it has been named 2015 Indiana Chamber of the Year.

The Chamber of the Year award is presented annually by Indiana Chamber Executives Association (ICEA) to a chamber of commerce in Indiana that has demonstrated exceptional performance in four categories: leadership and governance; finance; advocacy; and programming and membership.

A panel of judges from outside the state reviews award applications then selects the year’s finalists and the top chamber of commerce. To be considered for the award, a chamber of commerce must submit a detailed application that includes 10 essays and dozens of work examples, such as the organization’s strategic plan and press clippings.

The Southwest Indiana Chamber launched new initiatives in 2014, which helped the organization earn its Chamber of the Year recognition, according to Indiana Chamber Executives Association President Shelli Williams. “The Chamber is focused on its members’ needs and has seized opportunities to serve the Southwest Indiana region with new initiatives like its Downtown Alliance, Diverse Business Alliance, and Nonprofit Alliance.”

Other achievements cited in the award application submitted by the Southwest Indiana Chamber include: a net gain of 359 members in 2014 and an improvement in ranks from third-largest to second-largest chamber of commerce in Indiana; the launch of the new Southwest Indiana Chamber brand, new website, and new fully-integrated membership database; the launch of the organization’s Diverse Business Alliance, Nonprofit Alliance, Restaurant Alliance, and Downtown Alliance; the success of the Chamber-led restaurant competition called “Evansville’s Main Course Restaurant Challenge”; and improved financial performance led by an increase in sponsorship and event-generated revenue.

“When it comes to serving our members, we’ve set the bar high,” Southwest Indiana Chamber board of directors Chairman Jeff Mulzer said. “This award recognizes the organization’s dedicated, passionate, and enthusiastic volunteers, board of directors, and staff. As we celebrate a century of supporting the business community, we can add this significant milestone to our Chamber’s history and continue our commitment to commerce.”

Past recipients of the Chamber of the Year award include the Zionsville Chamber of Commerce (2014), the Greater Valparaiso Chamber of Commerce (2013), the Chamber of Commerce of St. Joseph County (2012), the Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce (2011), and the Daviess County Chamber of Commerce (2010).